CCFA Requirements/Exam

Certified Clinical Financial Auditor (CCFA)
Certification Requirements
Effective July 1, 2019
Click here for application 

Eligibility Requirements

  1. If not a member, please CLICK HERE to join as a member. Applicant must be a current member of AAMAS and maintain their membership annually. 
  2. NEW applicants for CCFA must have one of the following:
    • 60 college credit hours, a licensed healthcare professional degree or a minimum of 5 years relevant experience and a certification in your field such as CPC, COC, CCS. Credentials and experience are subject to review by the CCFA Committee.
    • Degree in a healthcare field including RN, LPN, PT, OT, ST, RT, Dietician, MD, Public Health, Health Information Management, Health Care Administration
    • Degree in Accounting or other Financial Management
    • Background in healthcare finance or revenue cycle, such as CDM, UR, QA or Coding with 60 college credits
    • Law, compliance or ethics degree.
  3. NEW applicants for CCFA must have one year of authenticated audit experience or similar healthcare finance or revenue cycle experience.
  4. AAMAS recommends that all applicants take the Clinical Financial Audit Workshop which is a 6-hour exam prep video class with PowerPoint. Click here to register for the exam prep webinar. Please contact Courtney at for more details.
  5. Registration Process: For details regarding registration for the CCFA exam, click here. Please contact with any questions.
  6. Testing Location: Testing will be online.
  7. Contact Laurie Laxton at to schedule the exam. You will be scheduled for a window of 48 hours which will include the date you requested. You will have 2 hours, 45 minutes to complete the exam. Once you begin the exam, you must complete it within the allotted time. You will not be able to start and stop the exam.
  8. Exam cost is $300.00. If you take the Exam Prep webinar, you will get a discount and pay $250.00 for the exam.

Click here for the CCFA Recertification Handbook

CCFA Renewals
CCFA renewal will require 30 CEUs every 3 years. Half of the CEUs (15) may be clinical and at least half (15) must be related to healthcare finance, revenue cycle, auditing or compliance. You can now renew your CCFA Certification with your membership! Please keep a copy of your CEU certificates in case of audit. For more information on renewals, please see HERE for more information. If you have questions regarding the suitability of CEUs, email the information to


We welcome new members interested in this rewarding field of healthcare financial auditing. Gain access to research, networking with other audit professionals, and ongoing education.

Memberships are based on a calendar year, January 1 through December 31.

Renew your membership!

Member Login